Closing Ceremonies Manitoba Games


2018 Manitoba Games powered by Manitoba Hydro Closing Ceremonies

The 2018 Manitoba Winter Games powered by Manitoba Hydro wrapped up with the Closing Ceremonies and the extinguishing of the torch in front of the Thompson Regional Community Centre.Closing Ceremonies

Host Society Communications Chair Bruce Krentz returned to MC the ceremonies, introducing dignitaries Churchill - Keewatinook Aski MP Niki Ashton, MLA for Thompson Kelly Bindle, Kathy Valentino, Councillor for the City of Thompson, School District of Mystery Lake Trustee Don McDonald, President and CEO of Sport Manitoba Jeff Hnatiuk, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary of Manitoba Hydro Ken Tennenhouse, Chair of the Manitoba Games Council Shayne Yaschyshyn, and 2018 Manitoba Games Host Society Co-Chairs Sandra Ross-Hitch and Murray Kissick.

The athlete's grand entrance was led by Elder Jack Robinson, along with flagbearers Mackenzie Ftoma (Team South, Badminton, silver medalist), Megan Ferg (Team West, Hockey, gold medalist), Tessa Barcellona (Team West, Gymnastics and Badminton, multi-medalist), Hunter Ullett (Winnipeg Blue, Speed Skating, multi-medalist), Emma Jarva (Winnipeg Gold, Speed Skating, bronze medal), and Jarvis Gibb (Team North, Swimming, multi-medalist).

O Canada was performed in French by students from École Riverside, and entertainment throughout the ceremony was provided by Aurora Dance Academy and returning acts Poetry in Motion and Ricky Pronteau and his jiggers.

Volunteer representatives from Sport, Athlete Services, Hospitality, Communications, Finance, Operations, Volunteer Recruitment, and the volunteer pool were invited on stage for a thank you.

Team North was presented with the Larry Desjardins Sportsmanship Award by Hnatiuk and Yaschyshyn, and the J. A. Ernst Spirit of the Games Award was presented to Winnipeg Gold by co-chairs Ross-Hitch and Kissick.Passing the Flag

The Manitoba Games flag was lowered by the 737 Thompson Squadron Air Cadets, and presented to Carla Wolfenden and Clayton Swanton, co-chairs of the 2020 Manitoba Games Dauphin Host Society.

As the Manitoba Games torch was extinguished, Yaschyshyn officially declared the 2018 Manitoba Games powered by Manitoba Hydro closed.

Hnatiuk described the Games as the largest Manitoba Games hosted in recent years.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon


Happy birthday to Manitoba Sports Hall of Famer Dr. Bruce Reid. Bruce competed in water skiing, capturing four firs…
RT : Next Wednesday, May 29th is hosting their Take a Class for KidSport event. Register, take a class, he…


Calm Air Logo
City of Winnipeg logo
Province of Manitoba Logo