Night of Champions Winners


2018 Night of Champions Award Winners

Each year, Sport Manitoba’s annual Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Chicken Producers celebrates sports excellence in Manitoba, and there was plenty to celebrate on Saturday night as athletes, coaches, officials, and volunteers were recognized for their remarkable achievements in amateur sport in our province.

Check out our Facebook album for full photos from the event!

Sport Manitoba Award Recipients

Manitoba Chicken Junior Female Athlete of the Year
Victoria Tachinski – Athletics - Winnipeg

Manitoba Chicken Junior Male Athlete of the Year
Tyson Langelaar - Speed Skating - Winnipeg

Calm Air Junior Team of the Year
Bonivital Flames U17 team – Soccer

Club Regent Casino and Event Centre Female Coach of the Year
Amanda Tetrault - Water Polo - Winnipeg

Club Regent Casino and Event Centre Male Coach of the Year
Jeff Scarcello – Volleyball - Winnipeg

OPIN Official of the Year
Azad Hosein – Volleyball - Winnipeg

Great-West Life Outstanding Volunteer
Ross Wedlake – Basketball - Winnipeg

Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Awards 

The Nott Autocorp Male Athlete of the Year - Open Category
Andrew Harris - Football

The Labatt Female Athlete of the Year - Open Category
Brigette Lacquette - Hockey

The Maurice Smith Memorial Award - The Winnipeg Free Press Team of the Year - Open Category
Winnipeg Goldeyes - Baseball

Cactus Jack Wells Impact Award
2017 Canada Summer Games

Night of Champions Nominee Bios

The Manitoba Aboriginal Sports and Recreation Council also recognized their athletes and volunteers of the year at the event:
Female Aboriginal Athlete Award
Dennita Cameron - multi-sport - Thompson (Cross Lake Band)
Male Aboriginal Athlete Award
Adam Thompson - multi-sport - Roseau River First Nation
Female Aboriginal Volunteer Award
Winona Morrison -  Peguis First Nation (York Factory First Nation)
Male Aboriginal Volunteer Award
Mike Taylor -  St. Theresa Point First Nation


“Manitoba's sport community is stronger than ever and it's an honour to celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of our athletes, coaches, volunteers, and officials at this prestigious event.”
Jeff Hnatiuk, President and CEO, Sport Manitoba

“We’re inspired by the commitment and dedication of all the nominees and we look forward to celebrating their achievements at Night of Champions.” 
Stuart Nikkel, Chair, Manitoba Chicken Producers

“Again, as we have for the past six decades as members of the Manitoba sports media, it is a privilege to have had a role in selecting and honouring Manitoba's top athletes and teams in 2017. Congratulations to all the winners and finalists for your noteworthy achievements in the past year.”
Terry Frey, President, Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon


Our newest blog post is on Bianca Andreescu's remarkable win and what it could mean for tennis in Manitoba and Cana…
In our west region, we will be saying a huge thank you to our coaches during National Coaches Week. Come out and…


Mondetta Logo
OPIN logo