2019 Coaching Award Winners

Celebrating coaching excellence in Manitoba

Manitoba coaches were honoured for their achievements in sport, leadership, personal development, and coaching effectiveness at the 2019 Coaching Manitoba Impact Awards presented by Club Regent Casino & Event Centre on April 13.

“Coaches create the foundation for excellence in sport as they work tirelessly to build the next generation of leaders and grow our amateur sport programs. It’s our honour to celebrate these community leaders and their outstanding contributions over their careers," said Jeff Hnatiuk, President and CEO, Sport Manitoba.

The awards reflect the contributions and achievements the coach has made to sport and athletes over their coaching careers. The 2019 Coaching Manitoba Impact Award winners presented by Club Regent Casino & Event Centre are:

Vince Leah Memorial Award - Fundamentals

June Mosiondz - Special Olympics Multi-Sport - Swan River

Konica Minolta Dr. Jack Hunt Memorial Award - Learn to Train/Train to Train

Bonita Martens - Gymnastics /Trampoline - Grunthal

Peter Williamson Memorial Award - Train to Compete/Train to WinCMIA 2019

Andrew Tough - Athletics - Winnipeg

Peter Dick Award - School System​​

Stephen Rebizant - Soccer - Steinbach

Global News Active for Life Award 

Darryl Ludwig - Special Olympics - Winnipeg

Group Community Coach Developer Award

Sheldon Reynolds - Winnipeg 

Female Coach of the Year

Bonita Martens - Artistic Gymnastics/Trampoline

Male Coach of the Year

Andrew Tough - Athletics 


Sport Manitoba also honoured coaches from across Manitoba who coached at international events the previous year as well as individuals who have been coaching a minimum of 25 years in the province.

Years of Service Recognition Certificate Recipients

Gregory Bouchard - Softball
Lee Carter - Volleyball
Shelley Ganske - Artistic Swimming
Jon Goossen - Basketball
Jennifer How - Basketball
Adam Khan - Basketball
Leisha Strachan - Baton
Grant Wilson - Volleyball
Ed Zalusky - Volleyball

Coaching at an International Event Recognition Certificate Recipients

Stephen Fedus - Football
Cole  Grant - Water Ski Wakeboard
Chantal Larocque - Ball Hockey
Dallas Ludwick - Diving
Kevin  Marchuk - BallHockey
Larry McKay - Volleyball
Kirby Schepp - Basketball
Shane Smith - Volleyball
Janine Stephens - Rowing
Leisha Strachan - Baton
Jeff  Stoughton - Curling
Michele Sung - Basketball


Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon


RT : On June 28th held a charity golf tournament in Clear Lake, and our KidSport West region were honoured… https://t.co/xKyvcnBfWD


Province of Manitoba Logo
Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Logo