night of champions logo


Award Nominees and Finalists for Night of Champions


Sport Manitoba Awards

The Manitoba Chicken Female Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees
Hannah Blatt - squash
Talia Gallant - ringette
Emma Gray - rowing                   
Marissa Naylor - tenpin bowling
Skylar Park - tae kwon do
Kyla Roy - triathlon
Victoria Tachinski - athletics      
Laura Tymchyshyn - baton twirling
Sarah Watson - swimming

The Manitoba Chicken Male Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees
Emmanuel Akot - basketball
Cody Bartel - baseball
Damien Ekosky - judo
Tyson Langelaar - speed skating
Hunter Lee - wrestling
Cameron MacKay - fencing
Levi Nadlersmith - cross country ski
Yonatan Orlov - baton twirling
Nolan Patrick - hockey
Liam Rohatynsky - swimming

The Junior Team of the Year Nominees
Team Dunstone  - curling
Team Tymchyshyn/Orlov - baton twirling
Brandon Wheat Kings - hockey
Portage Terriers - hockey
St. Paul’s Crusaders - football

The Great-West Life Outstanding Volunteer Nominees
Kristal Benton - baseball
Gail Johnston - speed skating
Alan McCracken - fencing
George McLeod - golf
Lawrence Oystryk - artistic gymnastics
Kevin Sanders - diving
Keith Stoesz  - curling
Jane Tan - baton twirling
Eleanor Young - tenpin bowling

OPIN Official of the Year Nominees
Ashley Desjardins - hockey
Chris Donaldson - football
Jane Edstrom - athletics
Kelly Mahoney - triathlon
Richard Mason - weightlifting
Riley Nordman - baseball
Wendy Smith - artistic gymnastics

The IMPACT Female Coach of the Year Nominees 
Barbara Lynn Fay - swimming
Lorie Henderson - artistic gymnastics
Sabrina Klassen - special olympics snowshoe, track & field, basketball

The IMPACT Male Coach of the Year Nominees 
Henry Kasdorf - volleyball
Kris Stasiak - wrestling
Mingpu Wu - athletics

*Click here to see all the nominees of the Coaching Manitoba IMPACT Awards.


Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Award Finalists

The MSSA reviews a long a list of athlete accomplishments and shortens the list to five finalists in each category. 

Male Athlete of the Year - Open Category Finalists
Geoff Gray - football
DJ Lalama - football
Tyler Mislawchuk - triathlon
David Oneymata - football
Jonathan Toews - hockey

Female Athlete of the Year - Open Category Finalists
Chantal Givens - Triathlon
Meghan Montgomery - rowing
Isabela Onyshko - artistic gymnastics
Desiree Scott - soccer
Chantal Vanlandeghem - swimming

Team of the Year - Open Category Finalists
Team Reid Carruthers - curling
Team Jennifer Jones - curling
Team Mike McEwen - curling
Manitoba Blizzard - lacrosse
Winnipeg Goldeyes - baseball

Among the MSSA awards to be presented at the dinner is the Cactus Jack Wells Memorial trophy, to recognize the event or individual creating a major impact on the Manitoba sports scene in 2016.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon


This chilly weather has our Fit Kids Healthy Kids team feeling very magical! Check out this Do It Yourself video…
RT : Each week, #fitkidshealthykids will be sharing a new game to get kids healthy and active for life. We're proud to s…


City of Winnipeg logo
Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Logo