2017 Sport Manitoba's Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Chicken

Saturday, April 22, 2017 - 19:30 to 23:00
1425 Regent Avenue West
Winnipeg, MB R2C 3B2

Sport Manitoba's Night of Champions Header Image


Manitoba is rich with countless remarkable sport people of all ages with amazing stories of success, service and dedication. We have young individual athletes and teams garnering national and international attention for their athletic abilities, volunteers of all ages dedicating their time to ensure a brighter, stronger sport system in Manitoba, officials who guarantee decorum and fair play, and coaches who lead, develop, and mentor Manitobans who participate in sport.

New This Year!

For the past 30 years, Sport Manitoba has been selecting the top youth athletes in the province. For the past 60 years, the MSSA has selected the top athletes (all ages) in Manitoba. These awards have been presented at separate events. This year, for the first time, Sport Manitoba and the Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters will partner to celebrate the best in sport in Manitoba at one event.

We are excited to announce this year's nominees!  

Sport Manitoba Awards

The Manitoba Chicken Female Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees

Hannah Blatt - squash
Talia Gallant - ringette
Emma Gray - rowing                   
Marissa Naylor - tenpin bowling
Skylar Park - tae kwon do
Kyla Roy - triathlon
Victoria Tachinski - athletics      
Laura Tymchyshyn - baton twirling
Sarah Watson - swimming

The Manitoba Chicken Male Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees

Emmanuel Akot - basketball
Cody Bartel - baseball
Damien Ekosky - judo
Tyson Langelaar - speed skating
Hunter Lee - wrestling
Cameron MacKay - fencing
Levi Nadlersmith - cross country ski
Yonatan Orlov - baton twirling
Nolan Patrick - hockey
Liam Rohatynsky - swimming

The Junior Team of the Year Nominees

Team Dunstone  - curling
Team Tymchyshyn/Orlov - baton twirling
Brandon Wheat Kings - hockey
Portage Terriers - hockey
St. Paul’s Crusaders - football

The Great-West Life Outstanding Volunteer Nominees

Kristal Benton - baseball
Gail Johnston - speed skating
Alan McCracken - fencing
George McLeod - golf
Lawrence Oystryk - artistic gymnastics
Kevin Sanders - diving
Keith Stoesz  - curling
Jane Tan - baton twirling
Eleanor Young - tenpin bowling

OPIN Official of the Year Nominees

Ashley Desjardins - hockey
Chris Donaldson - football
Jane Edstrom - athletics
Kelly Mahoney - triathlon
Richard Mason - weightlifting
Riley Nordman - baseball
Wendy Smith - artistic gymnastics

The IMPACT Female Coach of the Year Nominees 

Barbara Lynn Fay - swimming
Lorie Henderson - artistic gymnastics
Sabrina Klassen - special olympics snowshoe, track & field, basketball

The IMPACT Male Coach of the Year Nominees 

Henry Kasdorf - volleyball
Kris Stasiak - wrestling
Mingpu Wu - athletics

   *Click to see all the nominees of the Coaching Manitoba IMPACT Awards


Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Awards 

The MSSA reviews a long a list of athlete accomplishments and shortens the list to five finalists in each category. 

The Nott Autocorp Male Athlete of the Year - Open Category Finalists

Geoff Gray - football
DJ Lalama - football
Tyler Mislawchuk - triathlon
David Oneymata - football
Jonathan Toews - hockey

The Labatt Female Athlete of the Year - Open Category Finalists

Chantal Givens - Triathlon
Meghan Montgomery - rowing
Isabela Onyshko - artistic gymnastics
Desiree Scott - soccer
Chantal Vanlandeghem - swimming

The Maurice Smith Memorial Award - The Winnipeg Free Press Team of the Year - Open Category Finalists

Team Reid Carruthers - curling
Team Jennifer Jones - curling
Team Mike McEwen - curling
Manitoba Blizzard - lacrosse
Winnipeg Goldeyes - baseball

Among the MSSA awards to be presented at the dinner is the Cactus Jack Wells Memorial trophy, to recognize the event or individual creating a major impact on the Manitoba sports scene in 2016.

    Open Athlete : Athletes competing in an open category regardless of their status, age, ability or other categorization. An athlete may only be nominated in Open OR Junior category.
    Junior Athlete : Athletes competing in a Junior or equivalent closed category (youth, cadet, juvenile, midget, etc as recognized by the NSO). An athlete may only be nominated in Open OR Junior category.

    The Night of Champions will also feature special veteran inductions into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. We will induct an all-round athlete who excelled in baseball in curling, and a two-time national runner-up from lacrosse.

    Bruce M. Hudson will be inducted posthumously in the Athlete category for his careers in curling and baseball.

    The 1954 & ’55 Manitoba All-Stars will be inducted in the Team category for lacrosse. 


    Event Sponsors


    Suzanne St. Onge
    Sport Manitoba
    145 Pacific Avenue
    Winnipeg, MB R3B 2Z6
    Phone: 2049255609
    Twitter icon
    Facebook icon
    LinkedIn icon
    Become a Coach
    Start the Certification Process


    Our coaching manager and softball coach Holly Kitchen did such a great job on this mor… https://t.co/9OJcCM8GgQ
    National #CoachesWeek is right around the corner and Thompson will be hosting an NCCP Managing Conflict course on M… https://t.co/cq1RL5wYIU


    Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Logo