Event group awards


Nominees and Finalists Announced for Night of Champions

April 10, 2018 (Winnipeg, MB) – Sport Manitoba and Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association (MSSA) are partnering to celebrate the best athletes in Manitoba.

Every year both Sport Manitoba and the MSSA select the top athletes in the province in individual and team categories and celebrates their accomplishments in sport. Once again, MSSA is partnering with Sport Manitoba and integrating their award presentations into the annual Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Chicken. Sport Manitoba and MSSA want to recognize accomplishments in sport across the spectrum and feel that doing so in one event creates stronger bonds throughout the sport community.

On April 21, 2018 we will celebrate these successes at the annual Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Chicken.

"Manitoba's sport community is stronger than ever and it's an honour to celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of our athletes, coaches, volunteers, and officials at this prestigious event," said Jeff Hnatiuk, President and CEO, Sport Manitoba.

“We’re inspired by the commitment and dedication of all the nominees and we look forward to celebrating their achievements at Night of Champions,” said Stuart Nikkel, Manitoba Chicken Producers.

"Again, as we have for the past six decades as members of the Manitoba sports media, it is a privilege to have had a role in selecting and honouring Manitoba's top athletes and teams in 2017," said Terry Frey, President, Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association. "Congratulations to all the winners and finalists for your noteworthy achievements in the past year."

Sport Manitoba Awards

The Manitoba Chicken Female Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees

  • Kearley Abbott -Volleyball                          
  • Oksana Chaput - Swimming
  • Maddy Mitchell - Paddling
  • Marissa Naylor - Tenpin Bowling
  • Jessica Rabet – Wrestling
  • Victoria Tachinksi - Athletics
  • Laura Tymchyshyn - Baton Twirling

The Manitoba Chicken Male Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees

  • Tyson Langelaar - Speed Skating
  • James Lavallee - Paddling
  • Hunter Lee - Wrestling
  • Eric Loeppky - Volleyball
  • Ryan McMillan - Golf
  • Liam Naylor - Tenpin Bowling
  • Yonatan Orlov - Baton Twirling
  • Brandon Romaniuk - Karate

The Calm Air Junior Team of the Year Nominees     

  • Bonivital Flames U 17 Boys - Soccer
  • Team Manitoba – Female Canada Games Team - Volleyball
  • St. James  A’s - Baseball   
  • JT Ryan Team – Curling
  • Team Manitoba – Female Canada Games Team - Golf
  • Team Manitoba – Male Canada Games Team – Golf

The Great-West Life Outstanding Volunteer Nominees

  • Yacine Bara - Disc Sports  
  • Guy Beaudry - Curling
  • Irv Benne - Golf
  • Bobbi Bottle - Baseball      
  • Kathleen Dawson - Water Polo
  • Catherine-Grace Peters - Volleyball
  • Patti Sabeski - Baton Twirling
  • Ted Smuland - Tenpin Bowling
  • Ross Wedlake - Basketball               

OPIN Official of the Year Nominees

  • Azad Hosein – Volleyball
  • Kathy Kelly - Athletics
  • Darek  Mikita - Table Tennis
  • Ron Pelletier - Biathlon

The Club Regent Event Centre Female Coach of the Year Nominees

  • Melissa Diamond - Swimming – Special Olympics
  • Jessica Fichtner - Biathlon
  • Shawna Spence - Softball
  • Amanda Tetrault - Water Polo

The Club Regent Event Centre Male Coach of the Year Nominees 

  • Alex Gardiner - Athletics
  • Jeff Scarcello - Volleyball
  • Michael Spence - Hockey
  • Josh Thordarson - Volleyball

 *Click here to see all the nominees of the Coaching Manitoba IMPACT Awards


Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Award Finalists

The MSSA reviews a long a list of athlete accomplishments and shortens the list to five finalists in each category. 

The Nott Autocorp Male Athlete of the Year - Open Category Finalists

  • Devren Dear - Volleyball
  • Todd Fanning - Golf
  • Andrew Harris - Football
  • Brady Keeper - Hockey
  • David Onyemata - Football

The Labatt Female Athlete of the Year - Open Category Finalists

  • Emma Gray - Rowing
  • Brigette Lacquette - Hockey
  • Jocelyn Larocque - Hockey
  • Heather McLean - Speed Skating
  • Kelsey Wog - Swimming

The Maurice Smith Memorial Award - The Winnipeg Free Press Team of the Year - Open Category Finalists

  • Team Mike McEwen - curling
  • Manitoba Bisons Men's Team - Volleyball
  • Portage Terriers - Hockey
  • Team Manitoba Men's Amateur Team - Golf
  • Winnipeg Goldeyes - Baseball

Among the MSSA awards to be presented at the dinner is the Cactus Jack Wells Memorial trophy, to recognize the event or individual creating a major impact on the Manitoba sports scene in 2017. 

Event Details

Saturday, April 21, 2018
7:00 p.m.
Club Regent Event Centre
Purchase tickets online 


Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
Become a Coach
Start the Certification Process


Our coaching manager and softball coach Holly Kitchen did such a great job on this mor… https://t.co/9OJcCM8GgQ
National #CoachesWeek is right around the corner and Thompson will be hosting an NCCP Managing Conflict course on M… https://t.co/cq1RL5wYIU


Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Logo