Sport Manitoba’s 2018 Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Chicken Producers

Saturday, April 21, 2018 - 19:00 to 23:00
1425 Regent Avenue West
Winnipeg, MB R2C 3B2

Manitoba is rich with countless remarkable sport people of all ages with amazing stories of success, service and dedication. We have young individual athletes and teams garnering national and international attention for their athletic abilities, volunteers of all ages dedicating their time to ensure a brighter, stronger sport system in Manitoba, officials who guarantee decorum and fair play, and coaches who lead, develop, and mentor Manitobans who participate in sport.

For the past 31 years, Sport Manitoba has been selecting the top youth athletes in the province. For over 60 years, the MSSA has selected the top athletes (all ages) in Manitoba. These awards have been presented at separate events. Once again this year, Sport Manitoba and the Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters will partner to celebrate the best in sport in Manitoba at one event.

Watch Live

We are excited to announce this year's nominees!  

Sport Manitoba Awards

The Manitoba Chicken Female Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees

Kearley Abbott -Volleyball                          

Oksana Chaput - Swimming

Maddy Mitchell - Paddling

Marissa Naylor - Tenpin Bowling

Jessica Rabet – Wrestling

Victoria Tachinksi - Athletics

Laura Tymchyshyn - Baton Twirling

The Manitoba Chicken Male Junior Athlete of the Year Nominees

Tyson Langelaar - Speed Skating

James Lavallee - Paddling

Hunter Lee - Wrestling

Eric Loeppky - Volleyball

Ryan McMillan - Golf

Liam Naylor - Tenpin Bowling

Yonatan Orlov - Baton Twirling

Brandon Romaniuk - Karate

The Calm Air Junior Team of the Year Nominees     

Bonivital Flames U 17 Boys - Soccer

Team Manitoba – Female Canada Games Team - Volleyball

St. James  A’s - Baseball   

JT Ryan Team – Curling

Team Manitoba – Female Canada Games Team - Golf

Team Manitoba – Male Canada Games Team – Golf

The Great-West Life Outstanding Volunteer Nominees

Yacine Bara - Disc Sports  

Guy Beaudry - Curling

Irv Benne - Golf

Bobbi Bottle - Baseball      

Kathleen Dawson - Water Polo

Catherine-Grace Peters - Volleyball

Patti Sabeski - Baton Twirling

Ted Smuland - Tenpin Bowling

Ross Wedlake - Basketball               

OPIN Official of the Year Nominees

Azad Hosein – Volleyball

Kathy Kelly - Athletics

Darek  Mikita - Table Tennis

Ron Pelletier - Biathlon

The Club Regent Event Centre Female Coach of the Year Nominees

Melissa Diamond - Swimming – Special Olympics

Jessica Fichtner - Biathlon

Shawna Spence - Softball

Amanda Tetrault - Water Polo

The Club Regent Event Centre Male Coach of the Year Nominees 

Alex Gardiner - Athletics

Jeff Scarcello - Volleyball

Michael Spence - Hockey

Josh Thordarson - Volleyball

 *Click to see all the nominees of the Coaching Manitoba IMPACT Awards


Manitoba Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Awards 

The MSSA reviews a long a list of athlete accomplishments and shortens the list to five finalists in each category.

The Nott Autocorp Male Athlete of the Year - Open Category Finalists

Devren Dear - Volleyball

Todd Fanning - Golf

Andrew Harris - Football

Brady Keeper - Hockey

David Onyemata - Football

The Labatt Female Athlete of the Year - Open Category Finalists

Emma Gray - Rowing

Brigette Lacquette - Hockey

Jocelyn Larocque - Hockey

Heather McLean - Speed Skating

Kelsey Wog - Swimming

The Maurice Smith Memorial Award - The Winnipeg Free Press Team of the Year - Open Category Finalists

Team Mike McEwen - curling

Manitoba Bisons Men's Team - Volleyball

Portage Terriers - Hockey

Team Manitoba Men's Amateur Team - Golf

Winnipeg Goldeyes - Baseball

Among the MSSA awards to be presented at the dinner is the Cactus Jack Wells Memorial trophy, to recognize the event or individual creating a major impact on the Manitoba sports scene in 2017.


    Open Athlete : Athletes competing in an open category regardless of their status, age, ability or other categorization. An athlete may only be nominated in Open OR Junior category.
    Junior Athlete : Athletes competing in a Junior or equivalent closed category (youth, cadet, juvenile, midget, etc as recognized by the NSO). An athlete may only be nominated in Open OR Junior category.


    The Konica Minolta Olympic Salute

    The Night of Champions will also feature a special celebration commemorating their inspiring performances in PyeongChang. 





    Suzanne St. Onge
    Sport Manitoba
    145 Pacific Avenue
    Winnipeg, MB R3B 2Z6
    Phone: 2049255609
    Mobile Number: 2049255609
    Twitter icon
    Facebook icon
    LinkedIn icon
    Become a Coach
    Start the Certification Process


    Work in sport! We're hiring with Fit Kids Healthy Kids and the Sport Medicine Clinic - and so are some of our frien… https://t.co/hltH0nXZDk


    Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Logo