By Sam Cortes, Communications Coordinator

Marilyn Fraser (Builder/Athletics)

Dedicated is one of the best words to describe Marilyn Fraser. The woman people affectionately call “Mouse” has been involved with running and athletics since the early 70s. She has taken on many roles within the community, including being a long-time board member of the Manitoba Runners Association (MRA).

In 1978, early on in her road racing career, she was awarded the Executive Award for Outstanding Contribution to the MRA and became the vice president of the organization. From there, her commitment to help build the sport only grew. As an active board member, she oversaw the phoning committee, did registration for the Tribune Run for Fun and worked the finish line of the Manitoba Marathon in 1980. 

Throughout the 80s, Marilyn continued to volunteer her time to various running events. Her passion led to her receiving the Outstanding Volunteer Award in 1987. During this time, she also became the editor of the MRA newsletter, worked at race headquarters for the Manitoba marathon, was the Meet Director of the Manitoba Indoor Games and was part of the committee that bridged a gap between the Manitoba Track and Field Association and MRA.

In 1988, she stepped away from the MRA board to focus on growing Triathlon. Being a part of their board, however, it was not long before she returned to the MRA, becoming its president in 1992. 

As a level 5 Athletics official, Marilyn has worked at three World Championship meets. She also officiated at the Canada Summer Games and at over 30 provincial high school championships. Officiating for 43 years, she has devoted countless hours to the sport she loves. It has taken her across the country to major meets like the Nationals at both the junior and senior level, the Pan Am Games and the North American Indigenous Games. 

Over time, the volunteer awards and accolades have piled up and she is now being awarded with a 45-year volunteer pin from Athletics Canada. Already a member of the Canadian Road Race Hall of Fame and Manitoba Runners Hall of Fame, she is also now a deserving Honoured Member of the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame.