By Sarah Tone, Communications Coordinator

Sport Manitoba recently awarded $17,000 in academic scholarships to six high school students, 12 university students, and four Manitoba coaches. The awards included the Manitoba Foundation for Sports Scholarships and Sport Manitoba Coaching Bursaries:


Manitoba Foundation for Sports (MFFS) Scholarship 

Administered by Sport Manitoba, this scholarship program was established to support young athletes of Sport Manitoba partners who continue to participate in amateur sport while pursuing a post-secondary education on a full-time basis.

This year’s $1,000 university scholarship recipients are Speranza Albensi (Winnipeg), Cameryn Carlos (Winnipeg), Lily Francis (Winnipeg), Alexander Krykewich (Winnipeg), Blake Magnusson (Gimli), Paisley Poirier (Lac du Bonnet), Linus Schweizer (Winnipeg), Kate Sigurdson (Winnipeg), Alexandra Yarema (Winnipeg), Cali Yates (La Salle), Emily Zacharias (Altona), and Mackenzie Zacharias (Altona).

The $500 high school scholarship recipients are Jessica Chow (Winnipeg),  Maxine Lavitt (Winnipeg), Lauren Lenentine (Winnipeg), Jordon McDonald (Winnipeg), Chloe Morrison (Stonewall),  and David Nelson (Winnipeg).


Silvio Sboto Memorial Rural Coach Award

This award is named after Silvio Sboto, a dedicated and humble man who started learning judo in the late 50s after immigrating to Canada from Peru. He resided in Brandon for the last thirty years where he worked at the Seikeikan Judo Club. Silvio was the chair of the National Coaching Certification Program (NCCP) for Judo Canada. Recipients of this award receive a $500 bursary to be used toward their tuition. This year’s recipient is Cassidy Jones (Brandon).


Jeff Collins Memorial Winnipeg Coach Award

Jeff Collins’ expertise earned him a reputation as a coach’s coach. Jeff served as head coach and clinician for the Legion Athletic Camps at the International Peace Garden for 32 years. He was the convenor and co-meet director of the MHSAA’s provincial track and field champs from 1984 to 2001. He attained his level 3 NCCP and also worked with world-class special needs athletes. In 2003, Jeff was inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame. Recipients of this award receive a $500 bursary to be used toward their tuition. This year’s recipients are Vanessa Navarro (Winnipeg), Yonatan Orlov (Winnipeg), and Mark Naylor (Winnipeg).

Congratulations to this year’s recipients! Recognizing these well-deserving Manitobans is an opportunity for them to continue to develop and thrive within their chosen discipline. We wish them all the very best in their future paths and can’t wait to see what they conquer next! For more details, read our media release.

To apply for these scholarships during the next application period this spring, please visit our website later this year.