Canada Games

The Canada Games is a multi-sport and cultural event that brings together the best athletes and artists in a specified age group from each Canadian province and territory. The primary objective of the Games and the Games movement is national and provincial sport development of Canadian youth. The Games provide the stimulus for Canadian youth to reach their athletic potential, pursue personal excellence and develop socially and culturally within the context of ethical competition. The Games rotate across the country and facilities built for the Games often serve as a sporting legacy to the host communities.

The Canada Games were created by the Amateur Athletic Union, a private, not-for-profit national sport organization, with significant funding provided by the federal and Quebec governments. Quebec City hosted the first Canada Winter Games in 1967 as part of Canada’s centennial celebrations. Following the formation of Fitness and Amateur Sport Canada in 1968 the Canada Games became a program of the federal government. The first summer version of the Games was staged in Halifax in 1969. Since then each province has hosted the Games at least once.

In 1991, the Canada Games Council, a private, not-for-profit operation was formed. The Canada Games Council is the organization responsible for all aspects of the Games, including the philosophy, objectives and the development of policies and procedures to guide the preparation and staging of the Canada Winter and Summer Games. Their partners include federal, provincial and territorial governments, National Sport Organizations and their affiliated Provincial Sport Organizations. Additionally, host cities, provinces, and territories, Host Societies and corporate sponsors are partners in the staging of each Canada Games event.

Canada Games has taken on a new importance over the past number of years in Canada’s overall sport strategy. Canadian Sport Policy positions Canada Games as to target next generation National Team members and future Olympians.

Canada Games Host Communities

1967 Winter - Quebec City QC
1969 Summer - Halifax/Dartmouth NS
1971 Winter - Saskatoon SK
1973 Summer - New Westminster BC
1975 Winter - Lethbridge AB
1977 Summer - St. John's NFLD
1979 Winter - Brandon MB
1981 Summer - Thunder Bay ON
1983 Winter - Saguenary/Lac St. Jean QC
1985 Summer - Saint John NB
1987 Winter - Cape Breton NS
1989 Summer - Saskatoon SK
1991 Winter - Charlottetown PEI
1993 Summer - Kamloops BC
1995 Winter - Grande Prairie AB   
1997 Summer - Brandon MB
1999 Winter - Corner Brook NF
2001 Summer - London ON
2003 Winter - Campbellton/Bathurst NB
2005 Summer - Regina SK
2007 Winter - Whitehorse YK
2009 Summer - Charlottetown/Summerside PEI
2011 Winter - Halifax NS
2013 Summer - Sherbrooke QC
2015 Winter - Prince George BC
2017 Summer - Winnipeg MB
Western Canada Summer Games
The Western Canada Summer Games were created in 1973 primarily as an opportunity for Western Canadian athletes to test their skills in Olympic standard competition, improve sport facilities in Western Canada, foster volunteerism and provide for high quality sport events. Following the 1987 Western Canada Summer Games in Regina, a review of the Games was conducted and the provinces and territories agreed that the purpose of the Games should be to provide the province’s developing athletes with an opportunity to compete in competitions that supported provincial/territorial plans that might lead to higher competitions at the national level, i.e., national championships, Canada Games, etc. In 1995 the Ministers agreed that the Western Canada Games should provide a lead up to the Canada Games.
As directed by the Western Canadian Ministers responsible for Sport the Western Canada Games Council is responsible for the stewardship of the Games. Membership on the Council includes representatives of the provinces/territories, the host community(ies), the host society and a representative from the governing sport body in the host province.
The goals of the Western Canada Summer Games are:
  • to provide athletes in Western Canada with an athletic competition that supports provincial/territorial sport organizations developmental plans;
  • to provide athletes in Western Canada with an opportunity to prepare for the Canada Games and other national/international competitions;
  • to encourage and motivate participation in major sports on an interprovincial, provincial, territorial, regional and community basis;
  • to profile the best developing athletes in Western Canada;
  • to promote a high standard of coaching and officiating in Western Canada;
  • to demonstrate the strong volunteer commitment to amateur sport by Western Canadians;
  • to provide opportunities for the upgrading and construction of sport facilities;
  • to promote the value of sport and demonstrate its important role in Western Canadian culture;
  • to encourage government, the private sector and the volunteer community to cooperate in the organization and funding of the Western Canada Summer Games; and
  • to provide a human and physical legacy within the host community.
Western Canada Summer Games Host Communities
1975 - Regina SK
1979 - Saskatoon SK
1983 - Calgary AB
1987 - Regina SK
1990 - Winnipeg MB
1995 - Abbotsford BC
1999 - Prince Albert SK
2003 - Beausejour, Gimli, Selkirk and Stonewall MB
2007 - Strathcona Country AB
2011 - Kamloops BC
2015 - Wood Buffalo AB
2019 - Swift Current SK



Way to go Katie! https://t.co/6lqdxkAx9x
Calling all memebers of The Herd! Athletes, coaches, mission staff and fans: reply to this tweet with your favourit… https://t.co/1i5eVEdXBm


Mondetta Logo