By Evan Midford, Website & Social Media Coordinator

Here are the winners from the 2022 Night of Champions presented by After years of missed games, cancelled tournaments, no high-fives, or sideline cheers, we honoured our sport community and delighted in stories of integrity, leadership, passion, and teamwork.

“Night of Champions embodies the heart and soul of Manitoba’s sport community. It celebrates passion, service, and excellence in sport, and is a thank you to those who have had a meaningful impact on the lives of Manitobans of all ages. Thank you to the event sponsors, volunteers, and hard-working staff. This event wouldn’t be possible without your support and dedication. Finally, a big congratulations to all the deserving nominees, award recipients, and Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame Honoured Members on your outstanding achievements and inspiring journeys in sport.”
Janet McMahon, President and CEO, Sport Manitoba

To read a brief bio of each winner, click here. Click here to read them en francais.


Calm Air Peter Dick Award – School Systems

Tom Walls (Football)


MASRC Volunteers of the Year

Jennifer Chartrand (Basketball) and Kendall Robinson (Multi-Sport)


Manitoba’s Credit Unions Official of the Year Award

Richard Mason (Weightlifting)


Travel Manitoba Vince Leah Memorial Award – Fundamentals

Yonatan Orlov (Baton Twirling)


MASRC Coaches of the Year

Jill Fast (Football) and Kyle Prystupa (Hockey)


Volunteer of the Year Award presented by the Canada Games Legacy Fund

Tony Staruch (Baseball)


Konica Minolta Dr. Jack Hunt Award – Learn to Train

Reece Cretton (Hockey)


MASRC Athletes of the Year

Jocelyne Larocque (Hockey) and the Pine Creek Warriors (Basketball)


Manitoba Dental Association Junior Athlete of the Year Award

Mia West (Swimming)


Manitoba Hydro Janet Arnott Memorial Award – Train to Train

Juan Campuzano (Diving)


Travel Manitoba Open Athlete of the Year Award

Desiree Scott (Soccer)


Manitoba’s Credit Unions Peter Williamson Memorial Award – Train to Compete/Train to Win

Vlastimil Cerny (Swimming)


Calm Air Junior Team of the Year Award

Westgate Wings (Volleyball)


Manitoba Dental Association Active for Life Award

David Simpson (Rugby)


Manitoba Hydro Open Team of the Year Award

Winnipeg Blue Bombers (Football)


Konica Minolta Olympic & Paralympic Salute

We congratulate these Manitobans for being selected to the 2021 and 2022 Canadian Olympic and Paralympic teams.


2021 Summer Olympic & Paralympic Games – Tokyo, Japan

Athletes: Desiree Scott – Soccer, Kelsey Wog – Swimming, Leah Kirchmann – Cycling, Road, Olivia Meier – Para Badminton, Shae La Roche – Water Polo, Skylar Park – Taekwondo, Tyler Mislawchuk – Triathlon 

Coaches: Derek Ingram – Golf, Jae Park – Taekwondo, Joey Johnson – Wheelchair Basketball, Lorie Henderson – Artistic Gymnastics, Vlastik Cerny – Swimming 

Officials: Greg Dzioba – Para Table Tennis, Jane Edstrom – Athletics, Richard Mason – Weightlifting 

Support Staff: Adrian Honish – Performance Technology/Analysis Specialist, Dana Way – Biomechanist, Dr. Robert Michael McMurray – Medical


2022 Winter Olympic & Paralympic Games – Beijing, China

Athletes: Alexa Scott – Speed Skating, Long Track, Ashton Bell – Hockey, Dawn McEwen – Curling, Dennis Thiessen – Wheelchair Curling, Heather McLean – Speed Skating, Long Track, Jennifer Jones – Curling, Jocelyn Peterman – Curling, Jocelyne Larocque – Hockey, Kaitlyn, Lawes – Curling, Kristen Campbell – Hockey, Tyson Langelaar – Speed Skating, Long Track Coaches: Jeff Stoughton – Curling 

Officials: Trevis Boyd – Speed Skating 

Support Staff: Adrian Honish – Deputy Lead of Performance Technology/Performance Analysis, Hans Wuthrich – Chief Ice Technician (curling), International Ice Consultant, Jill Officer – Athlete Mentor, Curling, Reece Derraugh – Equipment Technician, Speed Skating