By Mariana Echeverri Alvarez, Communications Coordinator

On April 18, 2024, the Sport Manitoba Hall of Fame hosted the annual Night of Champions presented by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries, an event dedicated to recognizing outstanding contributions to amateur sport in Manitoba. Amidst the historic surroundings, athletes, volunteers, officials, and coaches were celebrated for their remarkable achievements and unwavering commitment to their respective sports.

The evening, hosted by the charismatic Matt Leibl, was a gathering of athletes, their families, and friends, coming together to honour excellence in sport. King Cole Catering ensured guests were treated to delicious food and champagne, adding to the celebrations.

Among the winners were Greg Dzioba, acknowledged as Official of the Year for his dedication to table tennis, and Resby Coutts, whose volunteerism in curling earned him the Canada Games Legacy Fund Volunteer of the Year award. David Howes was celebrated as the SBC Insurance Athlete of the Year for his accomplishments in figure skating, while Team Einarson was recognized as the Calm Air Team of the Year for their exceptional performance in curling. Gabrielle Wishart received accolades as Coach of the Year for her impactful leadership in volleyball.

In addition to honouring excellence, Sport Manitoba underscored its commitment to supporting amateur sports by providing bursaries to each award recipient. On top of this, banners bearing the names of the winners will serve as a lasting tribute within the Sport Manitoba facility.

As the event drew to a close, applause filled the Hall of Fame, reflecting the shared pride and admiration for Manitoba’s sporting community. The Night of Champions not only celebrates achievement but also embodies the spirit of unity and perseverance that defines amateur sport in the province.

Get to know the winners


Watch Greg Dzioba Interview


Watch Resby Coutts Interview


Watch David Howes Interview


Watch Gabrielle Wishart Interview


Meet Team Einarson